Day 10: Something you’re afraid of…

What am I afraid of? If I wanted to get off easy with this post I could simply say that I’m only still slightly afraid of the dark – and dark mirrors don’t do much for me (the legend of Bloody Mary was never put to the test in my adolescence). I could do a short list of the things that scare me (spiders would probably be on said list. Towards the bottom of course because I am not one to jump on chairs and scream for the man to come and kill it… that’s reserved for mice.) But I think I’ve made too many lists on Uncensored and Unedited lately. So, today I think I’m going talk about what I’m afraid of.

I’m afraid that I will never get things together. I’m afraid I’ll never make up my mind about what I want to do, and that I will be stuck in my holding pattern for the rest of my existence. That one day I will end up with a bunch of cats that I don’t even like; sitting in a La-Z-boy, munching on cat treats because I just don’t give a damn anymore.

I’m afraid I won’t fall in love again.

I’m afraid I’m going to fail, again, in this next school year.

I’m afraid of not making an impact.

I suppose when it comes right down to it – what I feel is the fear of the unknown.

But I am not going to allow myself to think on those things. Because they don’t deserve a second thought.

Fear never did anything for anyone. And it most certainly never offered anyone hope, or happiness, or anything else of worth.

 

Source: etsy.com via Alexandria on Pinterest

Leave a Reply

